Currently reading, 06/23/2019

Hello! Welcome back to another post on coffeelant! It has been some time since I have written about or made a video about what I’m currently reading. The last time I did that, it might have been in 2012.

Currently reading.jpg

I am currently reading The Stars are Legion by Kameron Hurley. This book was published in 2017. My girlfriend let me borrow this book a few weeks back and I have slowly been reading it at work. I am currently about 126 pages in.

If you want to follow any updates on this book, you can go to my Goodreads page. I will more than likely do a book review on this text once I’m done.

Book synopsis

Somewhere on the outer rim of the universe, a mass of decaying world-ships known as the Legion is traveling in the seams between the stars. Here in the darkness, a war for control of the Legion has been waged for generations, with no clear resolution.

As worlds continue to die, a desperate plan is put into motion.

Zan wakes with no memory, prisoner of people who say they are her family. She is told she is their salvation, the only person capable of boarding the Mokshi, a world-ship with the power to leave the Legion. But Zan’s new family is not the only one desperate to gain control of the prized ship. Zan finds that she must choose sides in a genocidal campaign that will take her from the edges of the Legion’s gravity well to the very belly of the world.

Zan will soon learn that she carries the seeds of the Legion’s destruction-and its possible salvation. But can she and the band of cast-off followers she has gathered survive the horrors of the Legion and its people long enough to deliver it?

In the tradition of Roger Zelazny’s Chronicle of Amber series and Ian M. Banks’s novels, The Stars are Legion is an en epic and thrilling tale about tragic love, revenge, and war as imagines by one of the genre’s most celebrated new writers.

Thoughts

I recently started this book and the ideas are nothing like I have encountered before. But not in a bad way. My experience with science fiction is pretty limited and I have read only a couple of books that belong to that genre (Ready Player One and The Martian). Hurley has also done a pretty good job at intertwining both perspectives since it is a dual perspective book told in the eyes of Jayd and Zan. She does it in a way where she does not repeat what happened in the previous perspective and in a continuous flow. Also, the whole book features only female characters, which is not very common in the science fiction community without the characters being overly sexualized. So far, I would definitely recommend this book to anybody.